11 different winners in 12 years, so should we expect another first time champion at Indian Wells

Predicting the winner at Indian Wells is a near on impossible job.

Over the last 12 years we have had 11 different winners in the desert. The only player to win more than once in this period is Victoria Azarenka who took the crown in 2012 and 2016.

The best in the world have won here including Serena, Halep, Azarenka, Sharapova, Ivanovic, Osaka and Wozniacki amongst others but consistency in the desert is a big issue so a new champion or a returning champion?

If you said to me right now, overwhelming favourite to win Indian Wells?

I could not give you a name.

Serena and Vika are more qualified than anyone in the desert but where are they at right now?

Halep and Osaka, are they at that level to win here again right now? Halep seems to have lost that steel and Osaka hasn’t kicked on yet and has spoken about the difficulties she’s faced.

New champions?

Two names that stick to mind. Petra Kvitova has been in good form but when it gets to the finals lately she has looked a little nervous but I’d still expect a good week from her.

The name that I have right now is Karolina Pliskova. The heat and court speed will suit her baseline game. I am going to write about Pliskova because she has impressed me greatly over the course of the season so far and I really feel that she could go far here. A day on and day off helps and if she can get that baseline game nailed on from day 1 at Indian Wells then she will contend.

Screen Shot 2019-02-26 at 09.37.31

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s